Results of the 2015-2016 CLST Fellowship Competition

This year's all-elected CLST Fellowship Committee, consisting of Bruce Venarde (HIST, Chair), Laura Brown (ANTH), Neil Doshi (FRIT), Randall Halle (GER), Adriana Helbig (MUSIC), and Linda Penkower (RELGST), reviewed sixteen applications on February 5th.  Director Zboray recused himself from deliberations due to the high number of recommendation letters he contributed.  The high quality of the application pool made for difficult decision making, but in the end the Fellowship went to Mohammad Mozumder (SOC), for his project, "Disciplining Desire, Training the Body, and Cultivating a Non-Conformist Subjectivity: Fakir Lalon Shah (1774-1890) and His Followers in Contemporary Bangladesh," and Henry Skerritt (HAA), for his "Historical Practices in Contemporary Indigenous Art."  Daniel Barlow (ENGLIT) also received an offer of a CLST Fellowship, which he declined, for another opportunity.  CLST thanks the sixteen students who applied for the effort they put into their applications, and the six Fellowship Committee members for their hard work and keen insights.